Founded in 1772, the town has an old world charm and offers unique shopping and dining destinations. Historic Ellicott City is also home to the oldest railroad station in the U.S., the last operating grist mill in Maryland and the first federally funded highway.
During the early 1770, three Quaker brothers – Joseph, Andrew, and John Ellicott moved to Maryland. The brothers who had grown up in Bucks County of Pennsylvania purchased land in Maryland to grow wheat and harness water power for a mill. Known then as the “Ellicott Mills”, the flour mill soon became the largest milling and manufacturing town of East.
The Ellicott Brothers developed new methods for milling flour, constructed machine shops, and experimented in farming and technology. They also provided various opportunities to the residents of area for employment as well as educated them with new ways of farming. The brothers were industrious and help established many buildings, schools, roads, warehouses, mills, and churches. By 1831, Ellicott Mils became a thriving community of homes, churches, stores, and a railroad.
Copyright © 2024 Roatech INC - All Rights Reserved.
SSL Encryption Secure Connection